Archive

I Love You, California

The heritage of the Golden State contains a lofty narrative of exploration, war, peace, commerce, expansion, and technology. What the origin of the symbolism that we commonly see and take for granted? The beauty and simplicity of poppies summarize our statehood; they are free roaming and ccolorful that dominate the natural landscape. You can visit… Read More I Love You, California

Archive

UC Irvine School of Business

Tonight Jennifer shared her vision to use #technology in the historical field at @ucimerage. #Metadata should be structured according to #DACS principles, but we can be #innovative in our ways of developing our content management systems. #UCI #history #Irvine #archive #preserve #exhibit #70Degrees #cms #data #computersystems #computer #art #museum #CA #humanities #science #business

Archive

Connecting to Collections Care

The Connecting to Collections Care Online Community helps smaller cultural institutions to provide well-informed care for their valuable collections. All content in the C2C Care Community, with the exception of special courses, is provided for FREE. This service is a program of the Foundation of the American Institute for Conservation of Artistic and Historic Works… Read More Connecting to Collections Care

Archive

Libraries

“Libraries are as the shrine where all the relics of the ancient saints, full of true virtue, and that without delusion or imposture, are preserved and reposed.” -Francis Bacon, 1884 #PreservationWeek @americanlibraryassociation @pollaklibrary #libraries #library #books #read #quoteoftheday #quote #FrancisBacon #catalog #history #book

Archive

Preservation Week

Participate in Preservation Week 2018 events. The American Library Association is offering a webinar on Densho Digital Repository: Preserving Community Memory Thursday, 4/26/2018 2:00 PM-3:00 PM (Eastern) 1:00 PM-2:00 PM (Central) 12:00 PM-1:00 PM (Mountain) 11:00 AM-12:00 PM (Pacific)   “Densho is a grassroots organization with a mission to preserve the stories of the Japanese… Read More Preservation Week

Archive

Library of Congress

Elizabeth Cady Stanton Papers: Speeches and Writings, 1848-1902; Speeches; [1872]; “Our Young Girls” In celebration of National Library Week, we are highlighting new online collections. “Archival materials from one of the most successful political partnerships in history, the collaboration of suffragists Susan B. Anthony and Elizabeth Cady Stanton in the movement for women’s rights, have… Read More Library of Congress

Archive

National Library Week

“The only thing that you absolutely have to know is the location of the library.” — Albert Einstein Visit the American Library Association for National Library Week events! This year’s theme is “Libraries Lead.” #library #nationallibraryweek #quote#quoteoftheday #Stuttgart #Germany #ALA#American #libraries #libraryofcongress #USA #international #literacy #read #books#community #AlbertEinstein